Arkansas Car Accident Attorneys
ARKADELPHIA, TEXARKANA, LITTLE ROCK, CONWAY, HOT SPRINGS, ARKANSAS
In the aftermath of a car crash, you need an experienced accident attorney on your side. At The Law Offices of Alan LeVar, we will help you navigate through the process of getting the compensation you deserve. Wrecks are not only expensive; they are also mentally and emotionally traumatic. You deserve justice and compensation for the accident that led to your injuries. For a free consultation with our experienced Arkansas law firm, please call (888) 220-7068.
How our Car Accident Attorneys can Help You
Alan LeVar and our team can handle all aspects of your accident claim. We work with industry experts and accident re-constructionists to understand and demonstrate the extent to which the crash has affected your life. We are well-versed in resolving a wide range of claims. Below are just several crash issues our attorneys are prepared to help you with:
- Teens and car accident prevention
- Drunk driving accidents
- What to do after a car accident
- Accidents involving uninsured and underinsured drivers
- Accidents involving pedestrians or bicycles
- Tips to avoid a car crash
- Who is at fault for a rear-end accident
- Compensation for Hit and Run accidents
- Distracted driving accidents
We will work tirelessly and expediently to resolve your case with the best possible outcome. A typical case involves the following:
- Evaluating your claim at a free initial consultation
- Thoroughly investigating your accident and discovering the cause
- Presenting a compelling case on your behalf
- Negotiating with insurance companies
But your case is unique, and we will provide individualized guidance for you and your family.
Arkansas Car Accident Lawsuits and Settlements
Since most car accident claims are settled through negotiations between the insurance company and the injured party, only a small percentage of car accident cases are actually tried in the courtroom. The first step in seeking compensation for injuries sustained in a car wreck in Arkansas is understanding the car accident process and timeline.
Reporting Vehicle Accidents in Arkansas
At the time of the collision, a car accident in Arkansas should be reported to the local police department, state highway patrol, or the county sheriff.
Additionally, in the state of Arkansas, any driver of a vehicle that requires some type of registration (apparently exempting dirt bikes, ranch trucks, and other off-road vehicles) is required to report any accident that leads to the injury or death of an individual and/or at least $1,000 in property damage within 30 days. This report must be submitted to the Arkansas Motor Vehicle Accident Report (SR-1). Moreover, any driver involved in a car accident has to provide the Office of Driver Services proof of insurance within 90 days of the collision.
Taking Notes After an Auto Accident
In order to build cases, attorneys need evidence. But if you were just in an Arkansas car accident, you’re the best person to gather some of this evidence for your auto accident attorney. Now, obviously, you shouldn’t be running around a highway with a notepad in your hand, especially if you’ve suffered serious injuries yourself. But there are things you should note about the accident to help get the facts straight in the courtroom.
Here are five details that car accident victims should record:
The Scene: Write down the weather conditions, where you were going, what time it was, who was in the car with you, everything you remember about the moments leading up to the crash.
Accident Specifics: Our memory isn’t always reliable, especially after a traumatic event. Write down every detail of the auto accident you can, especially injuries you suffered and any material possessions that were destroyed.
Witnesses: You don’t need to interview people, but asking for their names and phone numbers isn’t a bad idea. Also, if you hear a bystander say something, write it down.
Injuries and Symptoms: Write down the pains and surface injuries you have after the auto accident, but don’t stop there. Write down how these injuries progress over the next few days. Some injuries that result from whiplash won’t become apparent until the day after the accident.
Conversations: Write down the conversations you have regarding the auto accident, noting the date and time the conversation takes place. This can include conversations with other people involved in the accident, witnesses, insurance representatives, doctors, paramedics, or police.
All of these notes can come in handy when your auto accident attorney is preparing your case, as they help clear up a lot of the particulars regarding the crash, which will make it easier for both sides in an auto accident case to come to an agreement.
Three Things to Look for After Your Car Accident
In his new book “There Are No Accidents, Only Collisions,” longtime Arkansas car accident and personal injury attorney Alan LeVar outlines many things that drivers should know with regards to sharing the road with big rigs and tractor-trailers.
But the book also includes some useful tidbits about what to do if you’re in a car accident or a motorcycle accident.
Here are three details from the scene of your Arkansas car accident that attorney Alan LeVar says you’ll want to take note of:
- Driver fatigue. Take note of whether the other driver was on a very long trip, and whether or not that driver exhibited signs of extreme fatigue.
- Driver distraction. Pay attention to whether or not the other driver might have been on the telephone or experienced another type of distraction that can cause an accident.
- Driver history. If your vehicle or the other driver’s vehicle experienced a malfunction, you’ll want to help attorneys establish this in court. You’ll also want to know how many accidents the other driver has had in the past, which means getting detailed contact information for the driver and his/her insurance agent.
Process for a Car Insurance Claim
After being involved in a car accident, there is a lot that you have to do besides obtain medical treatment for injuries. You also need to file an insurance claim. Yet you may be wondering what is involved in the process as many people have no idea what the insurance company will do. Here is the basic process of what goes on when you file an insurance claim.
Right after the accident, you need to gather as much documentation about the accident as you can. Obtain police reports, take pictures of the accident, and speak with witnesses. Write down the date and time of the accident as well as all license and registration information from the other driver.
Next, you will file your claim with the insurance company. They will ask for all the information you have for the accident. Then they will assign a claim adjuster who will investigate the accident details. The claims adjuster will also review your policy as well as the damages to your vehicle.
By this time, the claims adjuster will have your medical bills paid as well as authorize repairs for your vehicle if it is not a total loss. You won’t have to wait until after the claim payment is offered to pay your bills or car damages.
At the end of the process, the claims adjuster will determine who is at fault for the accident. There are three possible outcomes to the situation:
- The other driver is totally at fault for the accident
- You may be entirely at fault
- Both drivers will share partial liability
These factors will determine the amount of compensation you may get. You may be offered a smaller settlement if the claim adjuster finds that you are partially at fault.
If you have suffered a significant injury, you should seek legal representation. An experienced attorney will be able to negotiate a claim payment with the other driver’s insurance company that covers your current medical bills as well as future medical treatments you may require. You should also consider hiring an attorney if you have had your claim denied because the claims adjuster believes you were liable for the accident. The attorney may be able to gather evidence and investigate the accident to prove you are not at fault as they can negotiate for a fair settlement.
Car Insurance Laws in Arkansas
The mandatory minimum insurance requirements in Arkansas include:
- $25,000 for the death or injury of a single individual (e.g., a passenger, pedestrian, another driver or yourself, etc.)
- $50,000 for the death or injury of multiple individuals in a single collision
- $25,000 to cover property damage
Statute of Limitations on Filing a Car Accident Lawsuit in Arkansas
All states have time limits on filing a legal case: In Arkansas, that limit is 3 years from the date of the collision. Typically, this time limit is not extended, even in the event that the insurance claim associated with the car wreck in Arkansas is still pending; therefore, speaking with an experienced car accident attorney in Arkansas can help you determine if filing a lawsuit is in your best interest.
Average Settlement Amount for an Arkansas Car Accident Case
Car accident cases in Arkansas differ greatly, which is why predicting the exact amount or calculating an average amount that a car crash in Arkansas will settle for without knowing all the facts is impossible; however, hiring a car accident attorney in Arkansas who has experience with these kinds of cases increases the likelihood of a positive outcome from a car accident case in Arkansas.
Arkansas Car Accident Statistics
As more people take to the roads in their cars to drive to work, run errands and go to doctor’s appointments, the likelihood of getting into a car accident increases. The Arkansas State Police latest crash summary report involved reviewing the nature of car crashes that occurred in 2014. Overall, there were 60,947 car crashes. This statistic showed an increase of 4.3 percent in 2014 compared to the number of total crashes that were investigated in 2013.
Yet while the total number of car accidents has increased, the number of fatal crashes has decreased. Arkansas drivers were involved in 435 fatal car crashes in 2014, a 5.4 percent decrease from 2013 when there were 461. When looking over a ten-year span, 2014 was the lowest year for fatal crashes as 2005 showed 596 crashes. In addition, fatalities from crashes have decreased across the state since 2006. In 2014, there were 470 fatalities, which was a 5.8 decrease from the following year. About 27,502 people were involved in nonfatal injuries.
Additional statistics to take note to involve the age group of people involved in car accidents and what contributed to the accident. People ranging in age from 21 to 25 were involved in the most car crashes that led to a fatality during a five-year trend from 2010 to 2014. Contributing factors for the accident involved careless and prohibited driving at 20,171 total crashes, failure to yield at 9,534 total crashes, and following too close at 7,738 total crashes. There were 6,645 unknown factors and 46,998 total crashes where there was no contributing factor.
While there has been a significant decrease in car accidents on public roads in Arkansas, motorists should still be aware of these statistics and take the proper precautions when out on the road to avoid being in an accident. Regardless of rises or falls in statistics, there are still a significant amount of car accident injuries every year.
Getting the Compensation You Deserve
As we fight for you, we will be fighting to recover payment for each and every way the car wreck has affected your life. Although we cannot guarantee any specific outcome, we will work aggressively on your behalf. Some of the things we may pursue compensation for include:
- Current and future medical expenses
- Loss of income
- Rehabilitation expenses
- Diminished earning capacity
- Pain and suffering
The goal here is to leave all the negotiations with the auto insurance companies to us while you deal with what is most important, getting well again. You will, of course, get the final say on all decisions, but we’ll take care of all the unpleasantness in the middle.
Verdicts and Settlements
- $165,000 for female suffering a broken leg and left foot when the driver of her car turned in front of oncoming traffic, causing a collision.
- $150,000 for next injuries to a man injured when the defendant ran a red light and hit him on the side.
- $100,000 for ankle injuries suffered after the defendant ran a red light and hit the victim on the side.
- $95,000 for permanent hand injuries suffered during a car wreck.
- $90,000 for injuries requiring a hospital visit caused when the defendant failed to yield on to coming traffic and turned left in front of the victim.
- $81,425 to a pedestrian hit by a car in a parking lot of a grocery store.
- $80,000 for concussion and ankle injuries caused by a negligent driver.
We know how negligence can lead to an accident. When a driver, car manufacturer, road designer, or other party is careless and causes your injuries as a result, you are entitled to the opportunity to hold that party accountable.
Speak To A Qualified Arkansas Car Accident Lawyer
The team of personal injury lawyers at the Offices of Alan LeVar has a proven track record of success with personal injury cases for our clients throughout the state of Arkansas.
If you are searching for an experienced, knowledgeable car accident attorney in the areas of Little Rock, Texarkana, Hot Springs, Conway, Arkadelphia or any of the surrounding cities to help you with any type of personal injury claims, please call the Law Offices of Alan LeVar, at (888) 220-7068, for a free case evaluation. You can also reach us online at any time.